I must say I am a little shocked at this one given how liberal NY is, but the NY Senate rejected a same-sex marriage (SSM) bill that passed in the NY House.  The voted it down by a vote of 38-24.  

So as of December 2009 five states allow for SSM: Iowa, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire and Vermont.  California was once on the list when the CA Supreme Court forced the CA legislature to legalize SSM (of course, SSM was already legal in practice, although not in name), but the CA voters amended their constitution in November 2008 to overturn the Supreme Court’s ruling.  Maine was also on the list until last month, when the voters of Maine overturned a congressional law that passed in May of this year legalizing SSM.

The NJ Senate is expected to vote on a SSM bill next week, so we’ll have to wait and see what happens there.